City of Kansas City
Home Services Residents Business Visitors CityOfficials
I Want To...
City Departments

News from City Hall

City Communications Office

City of Kansas City, Mo.

CONTACT: City Communications Office, 816-513-1349


Good Neighbor Awards recognize acts of kindness

The City of Kansas City, Mo., Neighborhood Community Services Department will hold the fifth Good Neighbor Awards ceremony on Tuesday, Aug. 2, at 6 p.m. in Swope Park as part of the National Night Out Against Crime event.

“Good neighbors make Kansas City neighborhoods great places to live,” said David Park, director of the Neighborhood and Community Services Department. “And, the Night Out event provides the perfect opportunity to recognize some great examples of good neighbors and to express our appreciation for their contribution to the community.”

Award recipients were chosen based on resident input. Good Neighbor Awards recognize City residents from a variety of areas and neighborhoods who have provided a substantial service to the community. Neighborhood associations and community groups may make nominations to the 3-1-1 Action Center throughout the year. On a quarterly basis the City will recognize a “good neighbor”. The nominee must demonstrate an ongoing spirit of compassion and helpfulness to his/her neighbors.

The Neighborhood Services Division selects finalists from the pool of candidates. Each of the selected nominees will receive a Good Neighbor Award. The Good Neighbor Awards Program is the City’s way of thanking the residents who are committed to preserving, maintaining and improving the quality of life in their neighborhoods and our community.

The 2011 Good Neighbor Award winners are:

Avalon View: John Hunter, Malinda Porter, John Sharp, Vanessa Claborn-Welch

Beacon Hill: Gary Dumas

Blue Hills: Odessa Reliford

Blue Valley: Reginald Pierce

Claybrook: Douglas Reinsch

Coleman Highlands: George Baggett

Linden Hills: Chuck Loomis

Marlborough East: Mike McCormick

Marlborough Heights: Betty Ost-Everley

Newcastle: Vinny Vinyardi

Oak Park: Karen Anderson, Rev. Thomas Williams

Oldham Farms: Wayne Tate

Parade Park: Willie Arthur Smith

Rockhill: James Wanser

Santa Fe Hills: Helen Boyle

Squire Park: Amy Crouse

Stradford Estates: Carolyn Bradley-Berry

Town Fork Creek: Mary Kelly

Waldo Tower Homes: Kurtis Marinez
Walnut Grove:
Donald LaCamp, Rosie Williams

Westside: Fernando Garcia Hernandez

Media inquiries should be directed to David Park, director, Neighborhood and Community Services Department at 816-513-3231.


News Archives

Contact Us |  Sitemap  | Legal Notice  | Privacy ©2013 City of Kansas City, Missouri. All Rights Reserved
  French  German  Italian  Portuguese  Spanish  Russian  Dutch  Greek  Japanese  Korean  Chinese  Taiwanese  Swahili