City of Kansas City
Home Services Residents Business Visitors CityOfficials
I Want To...
City Departments

News from City Hall

City Communications Office

City of Kansas City, Mo.


City designated a 2013-15 Citizen-Engaged Community

The Public Technology Institute (PTI) has designated the City of Kansas City, Mo., as one of the top 13 citizen-engaged communities for 2013-2015. The designation recognizes excellence in application of technology, strategic processes, multi-channel communications and performance management in promoting citizen participation and responsive government. This is the second consecutive time Kansas City, Mo., has received this designation.

“The City continues to invest resources in making information and services more accessible and transparent to our citizens,” said Jean Ann Lawson, operations manager for the City Manager’s Office. “We consistently benchmark our efforts against other local governments that we see as leaders in the field, which makes PTI’s designation very meaningful to us.”

Lawson noted that the recent creation of an open data portal at was a key achievement in the last year.

The City’s 311 Call Center receives nearly half a million calls a year from residents. City staff use data gathered from these calls as well as a variety of surveys, Web forms, language translation, records management, mobile communications and other tools to engage residents and make improvements in services.

Other places that received the 2013-15 designation are Chesapeake, Va.; Dallas; District of Columbia; Durham, N.C.; Minneapolis; Philadelphia; San Antonio; Santa Monica, Calif.; Winston-Salem, N.C.; City and County of San Francisco; Pinellas County, Fla.; and Montgomery County, Md.

For more information about the Public Technology Institute, visit

For more information about the City of Kansas City, Mo., contact Jean Ann Lawson at 816-513-6566 or visit


News Archives

Contact Us |  Sitemap  | Legal Notice  | Privacy ©2013 City of Kansas City, Missouri. All Rights Reserved
  French  German  Italian  Portuguese  Spanish  Russian  Dutch  Greek  Japanese  Korean  Chinese  Taiwanese  Swahili